April 18th in German History: European Coal and Steel Community Established

In this blog I attempt to cover all aspects of German history with both the brighter and darker moments of it. April 18th is the anniversary of one of the brighter moments. On April 18th, 1951, West Germany, Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands all signed the Treaty of Paris, or more specifically theContinue reading “April 18th in German History: European Coal and Steel Community Established”

Today in German History, March 25th

On March 25th of 1957, the nations of Western Germany, France, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg signed the Treaty of Rome which formed the European Economic Community, which was established on January 1st of the next year. This community was meant to increase economic integration between member nations and thus further economic growth. AContinue reading “Today in German History, March 25th”